MotoGP San Marino: Dani Pedrosa Takes his First Win of the Season

Dani Pedrosa has won MotoGP San Marino, denying the great Italian, Valentino Rossi his home victory before his passionate fans. The young Spaniard, who hasn’t won since the last competition in Malaysia in October 2015, began the 28-lap race eighth on the grid.

It’s all about volatility in MotoGP which makes it so exhilarating and Misano Grand Prix just reiterated the fact further as the famous Dani Pedrosa of Honda’s Repsol team secured the pole at MotoGP San Marino, grabbing his first win this season. This Honda rider held onto the title ahead of Valentino Rossi, the crowd’s favourite of Movistar Yamaha. Rossi was followed by his teammate Jorge Lorenzo. The Honda rider overtook Rossi during the final stages with about seven laps left and crossed the finish line 2.837 seconds ahead Rossi.

Pedrosa’s gamble was validated as he decided on a soft-compound front tire, which will allow him to push all through the race, even though he started in the 8th lane of the grid. This special arrangement helped the Spaniard to charge against his Yamaha counterparts namely Lorenzo and Rossi who were initially leading the race from the grid even with the latter beginning at the pole. Valentino Rossi, supported by a huge crowd of yellow, was moving on a medium front tire, a lot like other riders led the bike race early on, and successfully passed Lorenzo on the second lap. The Yamaha team member was expected to hold on to the victory to the pleasure of the hordes of supporters who were present at the event.

However, the Honda rider’s extraordinary move gave him some boost and allowed him to be the eighth different MotoGP star in a row to win the season joining the likes of Marquez, Rossi, Lorenzo, Cal Crutchlow, Jack Miller, Andrea Iannone, and Maverick Vinales. A lot like Pedrosa, this was their first victory in the season for the other four riders. The Misano Grand Prix also marked Pedrosa’s initial victory, since the Malaysian Grand Prix last season.

Moving down, Maverick Vinales was punished with a position penalty because he repeatedly exceeded track limits and also, he temporarily lost the fifth place to Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso, only to reclaim it soon after that moment. Michele Pirro finished at 7th position ahead of Cal Crutchlow. Crutchlow, on the other hand, finished ninth after he was penalised with 1.5 seconds because he exceeded the track limits. This unfortunate event led to his opponent, Pol Espargaro taking the eighth position.

In terms of championship positions, Mac Marquez remains in the lead with 223 points. However, Rossi’s recent win has helped him bridge that gap by roughly 43 points and is presently in second place with about 180 points. The present world champion Jorge Lorenzo still remainsĀ in third position with 162 points. Pedrosa, on the other hand, stands at fourth and has 145 points. The result of the latest win means Marquez is now in the lead of Rossi by about 43 points with only five races left in the season.


Share This Post